Picnic Day for SD’s summer interns

[From left to right] Matthew Miller, Amy Berning, Sydney Thompson, Governor Dennis Daugaard

[From left to right]
Matthew Miller, Amy Berning, Sydney Thompson, Governor Dennis Daugaard

I started off the day with the Cultural Heritage Museum. I cannot remember the last time I went to the museum (probably seven years ago?), but I thought I check it out to learn more about South Dakota’s history. I learned that if I read everything in the museum, it would take a total of 5 hours. I then met two interns from the Sioux Falls area. They were very friendly, and I took some photos of them while they were interacting in the museum.

I toured the museum myself, and I really enjoyed all of the interactive activities, such as putting an old wooden desk together, pretending to be a stakeholder for the Oahe Dam, milking a fake cow, and pretending to be a telephone operator (Who doesn’t like to eavesdrop on conversations?).
Afternoon:

This afternoon I attended the governor’s picnic, and I really enjoyed my conversation with two interns (Amy and Matt) while we were eating lunch. We also had the opportunity to take a picture with Governor Dennis Daugaard. The lunch was from Qdoba, and I thought it was absolutely delicious (kudos to the caterers).

The tour of the State Capitol was my last stop for the day, and I was very happy the tour guide was Pierre’s very own Uncle Matt. He’s such a friendly guy, and he was incredibly knowledgeable about the details of the State Capitol. He informed us that there are a limited number of blue tiles on the floor because each tile represents one of the floor tiles’ artists. He also informed us about an upside down marble rail post. Nobody knows for sure why one of the rail posts is upside-down. My favorite part of the tour was seeing the governor’s office. Uncle Matt also talked about all of the restorations that people are doing to make South Dakota’s State Capitol as authentic as the original.

Well, I had a lovely day, and I’m so thankful that South Dakota State Government provides opportunities for interns to further our careers and meet new people.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

